News and Announcements

Save the Date!

Thursday, September 9th, 6:00 p.m.
CCMS Fall Membership Meeting
Our in-person meeting will include a presentation of an important topic of interest to practicing physicians, residents, students and medical school faculty, and will be an opportunity to socialize and network with professional medical colleagues. Watch for more information coming soon!
CCMS is accepting nominations for the 2021 Physician Champion Award

It's time again to honor one or more Champaign County Medical Society members who go above and beyond their daily practice to serve the community. Do you have a colleague who volunteers in the community or is involved in charity work? Please help us recognize those physicians who make a difference with their generous contributions of time and expertise.

Please send us his or her name and a description of the volunteer work performed. Requirements are that the work be on a volunteer basis and that the nominee be a member of the Champaign County Medical Society. The volunteer work does not necessarily need to be medical in nature or performed within Champaign County; significant volunteer activities outside the community, or even the country, may be recognized as well.

The 2021 Physician Champion Award will be presented at the CCMS Fall Membership Meeting scheduled to be held Thursday, September 9th.

Send your nomination to
Nominations should be received in our office by Wednesday, July 7th.

Despite COVID-19 restrictions, 2020 was a productive year of support for our members outlined in our “2020 Year Review.”


CCMS Newsletter

The CCMS Newsletter is the official member publication of the Champaign County Medical Society and is published quarterly. Material contained in the CCMS Newsletter is copyrighted. For permission to reprint, contact the CCMS office.

Download the latest copy of the CCMS Newsletter now.

Archive:      Winter '21         Fall '20         Spring '20         Winter '20        


Join the Champaign County Medical Society

Your annual dues commitment keeps the voice of physicians in Champaign County independent and strong while providing benefits that you can take part in locally.

Membership Eligibility
The membership of Champaign County Medical Society is made up of practicing and retired physicians, medical residents and medical students who practice or reside in Champaign County. Out-of-county physicians who are in the same ISMS District but whose county does not have a medical society may be considered for membership. Physicians must hold an MD or DO degree and be licensed to practice in the State of Illinois. Physicians not in clinical practice, but who are employed in research, medical directorships or other positions which do not require a medical license in Illinois, as well as retired physicians with current or previous state license in good standing, are eligible for membership at the discretion of the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors has approved a new county membership category, the Associate Member. Associate Members are physicians who have completed a medical degree and residency but who have not yet been licensed to practice in the State of Illinois. Associate members are non-voting members.
Who We Are
The Champaign County Medical Society (CCMS) serves as a common vehicle representing physicians and through which local physicians work together for their own and the community’s good. CCMS is affiliated with the Illinois State Medical Society, the largest professional association representing physicians in Illinois and a trusted source of health policy leadership since 1840.
Benefits to Members

CCMS performs a wide variety of services which often go unnoticed by its physician members. These range from making numerous referrals, responding to inquiries, mediating complaints and serving as a local resource for people interested in finding information about health care.

We support our members by providing meetings that cover important topics of interest to practicing physicians as well as to residents, students and retirees; we sponsor activities that provide an opportunity for colleagues to socialize and network; and we support the UIUC College of Medicine and Carle Illinois College of Medicine through event sponsorship.

Quality Disability Plans Available to CCMS Members. These disability plans are available to you, as a member of the medical society, with up to a 20% premium reduction.

CCMS is active politically in concert with the Illinois State Medical Society regarding legislation that may affect our patients and practices and we provide opportunities to discuss issues with representatives from both sides of the aisle.  


Upcoming Dates to Remember
  • June 26: ISMS Board of Trustees, Chicago
  • July 7: CCMS Board of Directors Meeting
  • August 4: CCMS Board of Directors Meeting
  • September 9: CCMS Fall Membership Meeting
  • October 6: CCMS Board of Directors Meeting

About Champaign County Medical Society

Champaign County Medical Society is a not for profit organization designed and established to promote the health and general welfare of the citizens of Champaign County, Illinois; to protect the rights and interests of the medical profession; to encourage the development and dissemination of knowledge as it pertains to all branches of the art and science of Medicine; to bring into one organization the physicians of Champaign County, and to cultivate a true fraternal spirit among them; to operate as a component Society of the Illinois State Medical Society.
2021 Officers
  • Holly A. Rosencranz, MD, FACP, Secretary
    UIUC College of Medicine
    Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine

  • H. Reed Thompson, MD, Secretary
    General Surgery, Family Medicine

  • A.L. Jones, MD, MS, Treasurer
    Occupational & Environmental Medicine

  • William Holmes, MD, Immediate Past President

Board Members
  • Shamim Sadiq, MD
  • Nestor Ramirez, MD
  • Japhia Ramkumar, MD
  • Sathya Subbiah, MD
  • April Yasunaga, MD
  • Jennifer Wroblewski, MD, Resident Representative
  • Priya Shankarappa, Student Representative
ISMS Regiofn 5 Trustee
  • Nestor A. Ramirez, MD

Contact Us

CCMS welcomes your questions, comments, and suggestions for improving services to our members. We also serve as a resource for local health care information for people in Champaign County and are available to answer questions for the public.
We can be reached by phone or email. Please contact the office for meeting dates and times.
Send mail to: 1717 W. Kirby Avenue, #240, Champaign, IL 61821
Phone: 217-359-9195